7 Comments

Devon Flanagan – Ad-Hoc Trailblazer

Jurie and Devon Flanagan

Jurie and Devon Flanagan

Name: Devon Flanagan

Age: 20

Living on a farm pretty much my whole life has engraved in me, a love and deep appreciation for the outdoors. My whole upbringing has been extremely active and physical. I have an incredibly sporty family (My dad coaches a provincial rugby team) and my three elder brothers being performance driven have always expected of me, the highest of standards. I’ve never backed out of a good challenge as long as I have someone to support me throughout the event. I have grown up paddling the white waters of the Umzimkulu River (Just outside my front door). I understandably so have grown a love for extreme sports, and this love has led me into the industry that I am in currently. Spirit of Adventure came along to our school one day to promote recruits. Without hesitation I applied. I got the job and within weeks of training to become an Instructor everything about me had changed.

I had become fully people orientated and after the completion of my first year at Spirit of Adventure had decided to continue my service with them and thus applied for a second year.

After being given a lot more responsibility and the challenges that go with them, I was approached by Jurie, the Camp Director (who picked me, since I was the only one willing and crazy enough to accompany him) to get involved with a project that would stretch both of us to our limits. He wanted us to run the entire Senqu River (520km in total).

Experience:

  • 2 years of leadership instructing at Spirit of Adventure

  • Have lead over 250 individuals on multiple courses within the mountains as well as training first year Instructors on Mountain guiding and all its many facets.

  • Done 2000+ Abseils

  • Done 2000+ Rock climbs

  • Done 8 successful white water raft guiding sessions down the Umzimkulu River for Wild 5 Adventures

  • Been paddling white water kayaks since 2005. Paddled the Tugela River and shot the Hearts hills falls.

  • Paddled in the Thrombi X-fest in both 2007 and 2013. Winning it in my age group with the water level at very high. Out of the 50-odd participants only 26 finished, I came 24th. In 2013 I injured my shoulder while racing, but still managed to do the Thrombosis falls the next day in a lot of pain.

Achievements:

  • Awarded half colours for climbing in 2011

  • Spirit of Adventure Oliver Paige Technical award

  • Spirit of Adventure Patric Mchunu Water award

  • Spirit of Adventure Eric Pennman Climbing award

  • Spirit of Adventure Ross Nixon Directing award

  • Spirit of Adventure Dudley Forde Leadership award

  • Spirit of Adventure Andy Telfer Instructor award

  • Attended a swift water rescue course.

Devon will team up with Jurie Pohl in November 2013 to travel from the source of the Senqu to the South African border. More on this coming soon – Franz Fuls

About Franz Fuls

Adventurer Freelance Journalist Photographer Bunny Hugger Engineer January 2014 I depart on a 2,500km eco-expedition called Triwaters Tour. The website link is in my profile. Go check it out.

7 comments on “Devon Flanagan – Ad-Hoc Trailblazer

  1. I wish you all the best Devon! Keep everyone posted on your progress.

  2. […] Devon Flanagan’s Profile: http://trailblazerguide.com/2013/10/08/devon-flanagan-ad-hoc-trailblazer/ […]

  3. […] Devon Flanagan – Ad-Hoc Trailblazer […]

  4. This is boss! Take a bow Devon!

Have your say. We want to hear from you.

