Leave a comment

Our Trusty Steed

For the duration of the expedition we were fortunate enough to be leant a Toyota Hilux 3oo KZTE, by Gunther a friend of Juries.  The vehicle has had to work hard and never missed a beat, especially in the stages where my heart forgot several.  Doing an expedition like this, my constant fear was breaking down in the middle of no-where, with no one to help and no way of rescue.  thankfully that was not the case and the Trusty Steed has seen us all through Lesotho safely, and in relative comfort if i do say so myself.

The Steed of Greatness.  The Hilux 3L kZTE that saw us safelt, and without major incident, Across Lesotho.

The Steed of Greatness. The Hilux 3L kZTE that saw us safelt, and without major incident, Across Lesotho.

All I (Stephen) can say is thank you to Gunther for being willing to leand us his vehicle, and for his consistent and, from what i have been told, continuous upkeep.  We have some video footage of us getting lost he may or may not want to see. I know that i’ll probably feel queasy if i have to relive some of the roads we drove down.

About jurie pohl

Life is what you make of it. I spend as much time as humanly possible, off the beaten track. where I do not have a choice though, I stay on the track. most of these tracks are within the Drakensberg World Heritage Site. I have been hiking and leading groups professionally for 6 years and have got well over a thousand hours under the belt. I have done more Passes and solo-expeditions than I can recall, most notably of them, the Grand Traverse. The Senqu expedition was an adventure I could simply not negate. I am sure however, that it will not be the last time I undertake a grand venture and am in fact, already dreaming of the next exploratory challenge! Milk it while you can!

Have your say. We want to hear from you.

