3 Comments

Metamorphosis – Full Circle

Submersion at Town Wave.

Submersion at Town Wave.

December was a rollercoaster month!

On the first of December Sheena was an avid adventure sportswoman, but with zero paddling experience. Before the trip she has never powered any kind of craft with a paddle, although as a kid she once sat on a canoe as a passenger.

She learnt the art of rolling, mastered the art of swimming down big rapids, and can now proudly call herself a white water kayaker. She learned how to kayak in white water. Make no mistake, as Sheena herself confesses, she still has a lot to learn. But after a month she has the basic tools under her skirt (excuse the pun) to take on more and more rapids.

We ended the journey in Parys, where Sheena experienced her first river experience in a white water kayak. Here are some shots from her last two days of the journey, taken on the Vaal River:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Franz Fuls

Adventurer Freelance Journalist Photographer Bunny Hugger Engineer January 2014 I depart on a 2,500km eco-expedition called Triwaters Tour. The website link is in my profile. Go check it out.

3 comments on “Metamorphosis – Full Circle

  1. yeay for Sheena! Hopefully I’ll be able to keep up

  2. Hey Everyone
    I’d just like to say a little something that I feel this porject might stem from. Franz is an amazing guy; after having trained Sheena in the ways of being awesome on white water https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Z0Dzmz-2ns the two of them took it upon themselves to introduce a complete and foolish beginner to the lifestyle (me). They’ve given up hours paddling after that pink badas kayak and towing me out of the rapids and I just have to say how much I appreciate it. I’ve been given the opportunity to explore so much more than I thought I’d ever and I’m truly glad. I used to appreciate rivers but now that I’ve spent some time on some rapids I’m busy cultivating a true love of them and their place in our environment.
    The significance of the efforts that Franz is going though; raising awareness through the Triwaters challenge and introducing beginners into the water-sports lifestyle are not lost on me. The only way that I’ll ever be able to pay him back is by eventually paying it forward and one day do the same thing for someone else. He’s trying to develop the community into an effective mechanism where cooperation and mindfulness could create a sustainable and improved river and outdoor experience for us humans all the way into the distant future.
    I think its the yukskei that flows just past my house in buccleuch, it looks and smells like a stinking cesspit so foul that it makes me want to retch every time I drive over it. Its starting to effect me more and more, I feel powerless to make any difference and thats maybe the starting point to getting the world to improve; getting over that feeling of powerlessness…
    Thanks Franz I wish you well on your journies!!!

Have your say. We want to hear from you.

