Leave a comment

The Risk vs Effort Scale

As an adventurer I often meet people who feel that what I do is hardcore. Folks who feel that they will never be able to do such “epic” stuff.

I see it different. In my book I am not one of the uber-hardcore adrenaline chasers out there. I know many folks that run bigger waterfalls, surf bigger waves, take on bigger risks, survive and have fun along the way!

The other side of the coin is typically found on dating sites. Every third profile sells the writer as adventurous.

This got me thinking.

Adventure has a whole plethora of definitions. Aside from sexual promiscuity the common themes in the definitions are:

  • Risk
  • Danger
  • Uncertain outcome

So Adventure will be highly subjective. One person deems driving a car in rush hour traffic to be dangerous and of uncertain outcome, others feel surfing a tame local beach break to be hard core. Other folks will not risk walking on a sidewalk in an African city. Then there are a few who feel that an extreme sport like white water kayaking is not adventurous enough and plans to break a record by running a gigantic waterfall.

Here’s my perception of which adventures are risky and which not. Which take little effort to attempt and which drain energy like a 1980’s electric hair dryer. Please feel free to comment at will. I am sure I have missed something in here.

risk effort scale jpg

My final thought: Whatever activity you choose or like to do, make sure you are having fun. It does not help you or your mates if you are freaked out of your mind by what you are doing, and being in that place will probably kill you in the long run. Do what you enjoy, do it safe, and have maximum fun!

Get those adrenaline and dopamine glands pumping. Its free!

About Franz Fuls

Adventurer Freelance Journalist Photographer Bunny Hugger Engineer January 2014 I depart on a 2,500km eco-expedition called Triwaters Tour. The website link is in my profile. Go check it out.

Have your say. We want to hear from you.

